--- title: "SafeID Frequently Asked Questions" slug: "safeid-frequently-asked-questions" description: "Frequently Asked Questions for RapidIdentity's SafeID feature." tags: ["SafeID", "FAQ", "Password Authentication", "Security"] updated: 2022-07-11T19:13:08Z published: 2022-07-11T19:13:09Z canonical: "help.rapididentity.com/safeid-frequently-asked-questions" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.rapididentity.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # SafeID Frequently Asked Questions ## SafeID FAQ #### What is SafeID? SafeID is a fee-based feature that automatically scans selected user accounts against a database of breached credentials and alerts administrators when compromised users are found. #### What is a Compromised User? Compromised users are RapidIdentity users whose email and password have been publicly exposed either because of a data breach in an external system or via a phishing attack or malware. #### How often are Accounts Scanned? Selected user accounts are scanned weekly beginning at a random time after 17:00 hours every Friday. Accounts are scanned in groups. When compromised credentials are detected in a group, the **idautoPersonSafeIdCompromisedDate** attribute is set on the associated user account to indicate that the account's email and password have been matched in a data breach. Compromised accounts appear in the **Compromised Accounts** delegation as soon as the idautoPersonSafeIdCompromisedDate attribute is set. #### How does a Compromised Account become Not Compromised? As soon as the password of a Compromised Account is changed, either by the user themself or by a delegated password reset, the idautoPersonSafeIdCompromisedDate attribute is set to null and the user account no longer apears in the Compromised Accounts delegation. Regardless of how a Compromised Account's password is reset, as soon as it is reset, the user account will no longer appear in the Compromised Accounts delegation. #### What Prevents a User from Choosing another Compromised Password? When SafeID is enabled, the password reset process checks to see if the chosen password matches a previously breached password for the same account and instructs the user to choose a different password when there is a match. ## Related - [Configuring SafeID](/configuring-safeid.md) - [Adding MFA to Compromised Users](/adding-mfa-to-compromised-users.md)